The Results

Sedatives. Lots of sedatives. I remembered almost nothing from my procedure. What I remembered was, they sprayed a lot of sedatives at my throat, and my oh my, does that thing burn. Make sure to swallow it as slowly as you could to avoid bad coughing and burning feeling in your throat. Also, make sure to be relaxed, as you won’t feel much after the sedatives has been administered, not even swallowing your own saliva. You’ll still swallow, but you just won’t feel it. 

When they gave me the final sedative to make me sleep, the last word I remembered the doctor uttered was, “Try to close your eyes”. I did. Next thing I knew, I was back in my bed 4 hours later while texting a friend. It’s rather comical honestly. My texts made sense, but it was riddled with typos. Made me chuckle. Overall it was a very pleasant experience. But I was rather gassy after the procedure, you will have some bouts of flatulence and diarrhea for the next hour or so, but other than that, it seriously went much better than expected. 

Few hours later, my GI came back for a visit and explained to me that he saw some small ulcers in my rectum. This is called ulcerative proctitis, and the symptoms fit. He put me on mesalazine, 2 pills, twice a day for two weeks. I was starting to see the light at the end of a harrowing tunnel.

Or so I thought! More to come.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

